Skip to Content

Do Bosses Count As Elites in Diablo 4?

Do Bosses Count As Elites in Diablo 4?

There are numerous achievements and aspects in Diablo 4 that require you to Bleeding damage to Elites. But it can be quite confusing to understand which enemies are and aren’t considered Elites. In particular, you might wonder if bosses count as elites. Let’s clear this confusion once and for all.

Yes, bosses in Diablo 4 are considered Elites. However, not all Elites can be considered bosses. An easy way to identify most Elites is through the orange glow of their nameplates.


Still, having trouble identifying Elites in Diablo 4? Well, you can check out the rest of this article. I’ll be discussing all the different factors that constitute an Elite and how you can easily identify them. We’ll also discuss specifically what the difference between a boss and an elite can be in Diablo 4.

Are All Bosses Considered Elites in Diablo 4?

Unique Elites - Diablo 4

Elites in Diablo 4 are unique enemies that pose a significantly greater challenge in comparison to the regular foes you’ll defeat. Unlike normal enemies, Elites possess one or more Affixes which make them considerably stronger than your regular fodder enemies. Elites are also larger than regular enemies.

Although it’s easy to distinguish an Elite from a regular enemy, it’s far harder to recognize the difference between an Elite and a Boss in Diablo 4. While all bosses can be considered elites, not all elites can be considered bosses in Diablo 4.


This means that whenever you kill a boss, it’ll count towards you defeating an elite. The opposite isn’t true though, and killing elites, which are often significantly weaker than bosses, will not count towards you defeating a boss. If you’re looking to complete aspects and achievements it can be useful to keep this distinction in mind.

Types of Bosses in Diablo 4

In the world of Diablo 4, you will encounter various types of bosses, each offering unique challenges and rewards. Understanding the different boss types is essential for those of you seeking to differentiate them from Elites that you’ll encounter throughout the game.

Main Campaign Bosses in Diablo 4

Elias - Main Campaign Boss - Diablo 4

The most common type of boss you will find in Diablo 4 is the Main Campaign Boss. These bosses are integral to the game’s storyline and must be defeated to progress further and reach the endgame.

Usually, they will be encountered at the end of an Act, Main Campaign Bosses are tied to the game’s lore and offer significant rewards when you defeat them.

These boss fights, often introduced or concluded by cutscenes, are straightforward and serve as essential obstacles for you to overcome. However, you can only defeat these bosses once per character due to their narrative significance.


With larger health pools and multiple phases marked by red arrows, these bosses present formidable challenges, typically spanning three phases.

Here is a list of the Main Campaign Bosses in Diablo 4:

  • Andariel, Maiden of Anguish
  • Astaroth
  • Duriel, Lord of Pain
  • Brol, the Tyrant King
  • Elias
  • Lilith
  • Mohlon, Snake Queen
  • Uznu, the Annihilator
  • Amalgam of Rage Gestation
  • Ninsa, Blight of Hatred
  • Karum, Hound of Hatred
  • Genbar, The Shrine Keeper
  • X’Fal, The Scarred Baron
  • Vhenard
  • Airidah, Keeper of the Dead
  • Tchort, Herald of Lilith

World Bosses in Diablo 4

Ashava The Pestilent - Diablo 4

Another type of boss encountered in Diablo 4 is the World Boss. These bosses are optional and can be found in specific areas of the game. While not necessary for completing the game, defeating World Bosses offers you unique challenges and rewards, including rare loot. And we know how much we’re doing to get some of that.

These bosses have set spawn times and recommended levels for you to fight them at. With even more significant health pools and segmented health bars, World Bosses provide a near-impossible challenge, especially if you’re trying to fight them solo.


To tackle these battles, you will need to team up with up to twelve players, this will feel akin to raid battles in MMORPG games. Each World Boss drops a unique reward once per week, making repeated defeats redundant.

Here are some notable World Bosses in Diablo 4:

  • Ashava The Pestilent
  • Wandering Death, Death Given Life
  • Avarice, The Gold Cursed

Stronghold Bosses in Diablo 4

Malnok - Frosthorn - Stronghold bosses - Diablo 4

Lastly, you will encounter Stronghold Bosses. These bosses guard demon-infested Strongholds, which you must liberate to transform them into safe havens or dungeons. Strongholds offer side quests, vendors, shortcuts, and additional areas for exploration. So they are very much worth your time.


Each Stronghold features a unique boss at the end, challenging you with varying difficulty based on their level. Triumphing over these bosses yields rare loot, corresponding to the difficulty level chosen.

As Strongholds transform after liberation, defeating these bosses multiple times is not possible.

Like other bosses, Stronghold Bosses possess larger health pools and segmented health bars, usually spanning four phases.

Hopefully, through all the information we’ve provided in this article, you’ve gotten a better understanding of elites and bosses in Diablo 4. Bosses in Diablo 4 are all considered Elites, however, not every elite enemy can be considered a boss. Remember these words and you’re all set to raise some hell!